Day 5

Day 4: Ended with crackers.  They didn’t turn out quite like I wanted.  Not as crisp and a bit more dense than I expected.  I used Lentz spelt flour, CDA olive oil, salt, baking power, and water to make them. The tortilla press came in handy again to quickly flatten the dough.

Toppings for the crackers:

1. Mushrooms and onions sautéed

2. Small Planet tofu with a Post Falls spice blend purchased from Natural Start

3. Cheese, the Q cheese and one from Dayton purchased with the Main Market $15

4. Garlic, my former roommates Dad taught me this simple trick.  Take a clove of garlic, cut the top off, wrap in foil and pour olive oil inside.  Close the foil and put in an oven at 350 – 400 degrees for 45 – 60 mins. Take it out and you have an excellent garlic spread.

5. Innards of Boulani, potato, green onion, Peri Peri sauce from Old European, salt

6. Tomato, cilantro, lemon, avocado, salt, salad

7. The beans didn’t quite make it into the mix but were from the last Locavore challenge

Day 5 the plan: Finish out the day at Sante. I was surprised when I saw my desk today with a homemade local cherry danish next to my computer, it tasted great, and was a very nice gesture.

Today I am loving:

1. Just how many choices there are for local out there, and I haven’t had time to come close to tasting or finding all the products.

2. It’s Friday!

3.”Parsnip Purgatory” from Crystal’s Buzz

4. Drawing names to see who will win the Doma Spokavore prizes


One response to this post.

  1. […] Geneva reminds us that Sante is both local and awesome. Why nobody has just camped there for five days is beyond me! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

