Locavore, That’s Right I’m Out!

I am my own Bob Barker in these contests, and I don’t want to win a prize from myself.  Friday was approaching fast and I knew I had to knock out a few more players before the end of the game.  The prizes will be better if fewer people win, supply and demand. (If you knock people out today and you are the only winner, your prize will be awesome – motivation?!)

Fresh, the movie, happened before the hummus, I love spices.  I told myself, I will wait until after the movie and see what direction it motivates me.  Well, they had some amazing looking meals at those farms. My mind started racing for Locavore Round 2 where those meals would be totally legal. Of course spices have their fare share of issues so, now it is time to research the sustainable suppliers.

I also walked away inspired to buy my Main Market Co-op membership.  I have it budgeted for next month when I originally planned to buy one but I am now more motivated and excited about it.

At the Fresh swap, I still was not sure if I would go out.  So I traded for Rachel’s carrots, which we all ended up eating like popcorn at the movie, and Crystal let me have some of her oil.  I will honor that with an awesome vegan meal made with the oil.

I learned more from this contest than in contests in the past. It definitely had more meaning behind it.  I am quite a literal person, and I am happy to know more people would be willing to find out what “local” in Spokane, WA means in the literal sense.

I am very excited to start putting that “Annual Manual” of locavore places together.  It will be web-based while the directory is complied.  If you want to help or have suggestions please, feel free. Even at the movie Fresh, people were asking about local vendors.  I don’t know why I just assumed the rest of the audience would know more than me about the local producers and supporters in our region.

Remember you 5 remaining, if you knock then out to one sole winner there will be an awesome prize, if there is more than one winner there will still be a prize it just won’t be nearly as good.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I got mostly all my produce (broccoli, peppers, apples, peaches, potatoes, beans, peas, corn, eggplant, garlic, basil, cucumbers) at Carver’s Farm in Newman Lake. They were really kind and everything was extremely inexpensive. They also sold honey and berries.

    Hummus is a fabulous thing to go out on, well done 🙂

    Reply

  2. Well, if I end up winning, I don’t need a prize. I’m doing this challenge on complete intrinsic motivation. 🙂

    Anyway, I agree with you about the Main Market Coop and the movie last night. I need to start saving my money to become a member. I still can’t believe it has taken this long for us to get one, but thank goodness we are!

    Reply

  3. Wow Stephanie, that sounds like a great farm – such variety!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

