Locavore Day 1 and food sources

Day 1 order of food: peach, rolled oats (honey, milk), strawberry smoothie (milk, strawberries, honey), purple potato and garlic, corn on the cob (apple cider, garlic, onion sauce), roasted squash wedges, baked potato, steak (tomato, onion, milk sauce)

Yes, I ate parts of all of that.  I did not plan well at all, quite like Monique was saying.  So, the peach for breakfast and nothing more with me, I had to run home at lunch and think fast.  Then snacks of vegetables between meals until Remi bought steak and shared it with me.  I also tried to put milk in a blender hoping I could whip it enough to make butter.  Guess what happens to the blender, it gets to hot and shuts off and basically boils the milk from the heat.

Unlike Andrew, my struggle is prepping food and the time it takes to cook it.  I don’t have a problem with caffeine.  It is a great addiction to get over.

Here is where my food came from. Like many wondering about the miles driven to get food, had more research been done ahead of time, I am guessing I never would have had to leave a 5 mile radius of my house to get food from the 100 mile radius.  I now have more knowledge about the sources and markets.

Food from the garden:
Lettuce
Spinach
Beets
Snap Peas
Cilantro
Tomatoes
Peppers
Squash
Mint
Basil
Chives

Food from friends/neighbors:
tomatoes
cucumber
eggs
dill
Applesauce (Harvest House Greenbluff Apples, nothing added)

Food from Fresh Abundance:
Milk
Spelt flour, oats, and grains

Food from Market behind Maxwell House Bar (Ash & Maxwell):
Apples
Plums

Food From 11 Acres on Greenbluff:
Tomatoes
Ginseng ($0.60)
Pearl onions

Food From Walter’s on Greenbluff:
Apple Cider
Hazelnuts
Jalapenos
Green Peppers
Other peppers
Corn
Apples

Food From Deer Park Farmers Market:
Garlic
Onions
Purple potatoes
honey – the lowest price in town
Peaches
Green Beans
Corn

One response to this post.

  1. I sympathize with your prep/cook time dilemma. I’m spending so much time in the kitchen making dinner, I can’t even get caught up with my blog reading until 11pm! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

